top of page

Burchester Tales 14: Naughty Boy

Davy has found a new friend in this week's episode of Burchester Tales.

Burchester Tales: Episode 14

Naughty Boy by H. Lewis-Foster

“Thanks for meeting Ross like that.” Gus settled onto the comfy green sofa in Davy’s drawing room. “I don’t know what you said to him, but he’s got a date with Sophie on Friday.”

“It was my absolute pleasure, darling.”

The glint in Davy’s eye sent a shiver of panic up Gus’s spine. “What did you do with Ross, exactly? You were only supposed to have a friendly chat with him.”

“And that’s all I did.” Davy looked slightly offended by Gus’s insinuation, then he grinned. “My God, I was tempted, though. Why didn’t you tell me he was so cute?”

“Because I didn’t want to put temptation in your way before you’d even met him.” Ross wasn’t Gus’s idea of a stud, but he’d known Davy would find him attractive, with his particular penchant for redheads. “I didn’t want you getting any improper ideas.”

“Me? Improper? I can’t imagine what you mean.” Davy’s face was a picture of innocence, as he took a sip from his china teacup. Then his virtuous guise was ingloriously shattered as footsteps sounded on the stairs.

Gus eyed Davy suspiciously. “What have you been up to?”

Davy placed his cup on a mahogany table. “I think you’re about to find out.”

The door eased open to reveal a slender young man with auburn hair and sleepy brown eyes, while the gold ring through his lower lip matched the one in his left nipple. He smiled mischievously at Davy, the growing bulge in his skimpy briefs indicating his keenness to continue whatever they’d indulged in a few hours before. When Gus coughed discreetly, the poor bloke was understandably startled.

“Shit. Sorry. I didn’t realise you had company.” He edged back towards the door. “Do you mind if I have a shower before I go?”

“Of course not, Sol.” Davy’s voice was reassuring. “You know where the bathroom is.”

Sol disappeared into the hallway, and Davy called after him. “Then come down and join us for breakfast.”

When Sol was safely upstairs, Gus burst into laughter. “Davy, you naughty boy. Where did you meet your new friend?”

Davy relaxed into his leather armchair, a sublimely satisfied look on his face. “It was all in the course of my mission of mercy.” He smiled at Gus’s confused expression. “He was working in the Union bar when I was waiting for Ross. When I’d imparted my words of wisdom, I was left at something of a loose end.”

“So you found someone to play with.” Gus chuckled, still amazed by Davy’s confidence around men. They’d both been barely eighteen when they met, but Davy was already far more experienced than Gus, who even now wouldn't have the nerve to chat up a stranger and take him home for a quickie.

Davy gave Gus a playfully accusing stare. “As you only have eyes for the lithesome Lee these days, I have to find something to occupy my time.”

“You could try studying for a change, you lazy git.” Gus chucked a velvet-trimmed cushion at Davy, who ducked beneath it like a cricketer avoiding a bouncer.

“I work very hard, I’ll have you know.” Davy retrieved the cushion and lobbed it back at Gus. “I simply concentrate my efforts on specific targets.”

“You mean spending a single day writing an essay, or barely a week revising for all your exams?”

“Precisely. I like to conserve my energy for the important things in life.”

“Like picking up barmen?” Gus hadn’t meant to sound so catty, and he wished he could take back his words when he saw the hurt look in Davy’s eyes. “I’m sorry, Davy. That sounded awful. There’s nothing wrong with being a barman – or shagging one.”

“Thanks for your approval.” The faint curl of Davy’s lip showed Gus he was forgiven. “Besides, Sol is doing a PhD in physics. He’s just working in the bar to pay his rent.”

Gus nodded, knowing how lucky he was not to have to work part-time like so many of his fellow students, thanks to his parents saving for his education pretty much since the day he was born.


“So will you be seeing Sol again?”

Davy looked more bashful than Gus had ever seen him. “Quite possibly.”

Just as when Davy had confessed to his fling with Carl the American student, Gus felt the tiniest twinge of jealousy, which he quickly shoved to the back of his mind. “You really like him, don’t you?”

“Well, it would be a terrible shame not to see him again.”

An intriguing thought occurred to Gus. “Don’t tell me his piercings extend further south than his nipple.”

“Darling, do you really think I’m so shallow?” Davy raised a hand before Gus could reply. “Don’t answer that. But as it happens, Sol is a very interesting man. His family own a farm in the Lakes, you know.”

Gus smiled to himself. Even if Sol’s family were penniless, a rural landowner’s son would be much more acceptable to Davy’s parents than someone of Gus’s middle-class roots. He doubted Davy’s infatuation with Sol would last long, but Gus was so happy with Lee, it seemed churlish to deny Davy his romantic enthusiasm.

“I’d better leave you to get Sol some breakfast, then.”

“You don’t have to go. Stay and meet him properly.” Davy seemed genuinely eager for Gus to meet Sol again, and no doubt give his opinion of him.

“I think Sol might find it a little awkward to chat to your ex over croissants and coffee. I tell you what, if you’re still seeing him by the weekend, you can come on a double date with me and Lee.”

“A double date? How very quaint.” Davy considered the proposition a moment then smiled. “Sounds like a wonderful idea.”

© H. Lewis-Foster 2015. All rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
    bottom of page