top of page

Burchester Tales 19: Stan and Jeremy

We finally meet Jeremy in this week's episode of Burchester Tales.

Burchester Tales: Episode 19

Stan and Jeremy by H. Lewis-Foster

“Jeremy?” Stan called through to the kitchen, not knowing if he’d receive a reply or not. Jeremy hadn’t been in the best of moods that morning, and while he’d seemed to cheer up as the day went on, his willingness to help could not be guaranteed.

“Yes, sweetheart?”

Stan breathed a sigh of relief, as Jeremy wandered out of the kitchen with a relaxed smile on his face.

“Do you need me for something?” Jeremy’s question was, of course, quite superfluous. Stan always needed Jeremy. He needed him to cook delicious food at work and at home, to make sure they didn’t overspend, to make love to him like no one else could at the end of a busy day. Right now, however, Stan needed his rather more mundane assistance.

“Would you give me a hand to move the tables, so I can mop the floor?”

“’Course I will, love.”

Jeremy gave him a kiss on the cheek, and Stan’s heart fluttered, just as it had done twenty years ago when they first met. There may have been a touch of grey in his short black hair, and he may have put on a couple of pounds, but Jeremy was still the best looking man in Burchester, at least as far as Stan was concerned.

Jeremy’s firm biceps bulged as he lifted a table and effortlessly moved it across the room. Had it been twenty years ago, Stan would have had no hesitation in hauling Jeremy onto the nearest table and having his very wicked way with him. But now they were respectable business owners, and the café sadly had no blinds at the windows. Stan didn’t think the good people of Burchester were ready for a sex show on the High Street, even if it was free of charge. Stan chuckled at the thought, and Jeremy coughed pointedly.

“Am I shifting all these tables on my own?”

“Sorry, darling.” Stan grasped the other end of the table Jeremy was leaning on. “I was just admiring your gorgeous muscles.”

“That’s all right then.” Jeremy grinned as they moved the table. “So what were you up to with the Professor? You’ve not been matchmaking again, have you?”

“I don’t know what you mean.” Stan smiled innocently, and Jeremy rolled his eyes.

“I wish you’d stop playing Cupid, Stan. It’s costing us a fortune in wedding presents.”

“Maybe I should charge for my services.”

“Maybe.” Jeremy laughed as he shoved the last of the tables into the corner. “Which poor sod did you match the Professor up with? I hear he’s a right miserable git.”

“He’s had a bit of a tough time, that’s all. He got caught by Ben Tanner.”

“That little gold-digger?” Jeremy was just as au fait with the local gossip as Stan. “The poor professor deserves a bit of happiness after that. Who’s his lucky date?”

“Now don’t get angry with me, darling, but I set him up with Hywel.”

“Hywel? Stan, how could you?”

Jeremy rarely got annoyed, but when he did, his temper was something to behold. Stan attempted to explain his actions.

“I know he’s your friend, and I know you care a lot for him. So do I. But I honestly think he’ll get on well with Mike Watkins. There’s just something about him I think Hywel will take a shine to.”

“You mean his complete inability to crack a smile?”

Stan knew what Jeremy meant, but he was certain there was more to Mike than met the eye.

“Just have a little faith in me, sweetheart.”

Jeremy shook his head. “Don’t I always?”

He pulled Stan close to give him a lingering kiss, and Stan’s thoughts of sexual exhibitionism flashed into his mind once more. He pulled away from his lover, before his impulses became too strong to resist. He would never have imagined, when he was eighteen, that he’d still be so turned on by the same man he lost his virginity to. They may no longer have spent every spare minute either having sex or thinking about it, but there was still no one else Stan would rather share his bed or his life with.

Turning his mind to more practical matters, Stan grabbed his mop and bucket of soapy water. As he swished the mop across the floor, Jeremy’s hand gently caressed the contours of Stan’s bum. He was clearly in a much better mood, so Stan decided to broach a delicate subject.

“Have you had any more thoughts about the Burchester Show?”

Stan flinched as Jeremy gave his backside a sharp but playful slap.

“Give me a break, Stan. I spend enough time cooking, without competing with Mrs Jennings on my day off.”

Mrs Jennings was the snooty doyen of the local Women’s Institute, who took great pleasure in picking faults with the café; the décor, the food, the clientele. Stan would love to see the look on her smug face, when Jeremy received the prize for best cake at Burchester’s annual fete.

“Go on, Jeremy. It’d be fantastic publicity for this place, too.”

In truth, the café was more than busy enough for the two of them, but Jeremy couldn’t turn down the chance to do a bit of marketing.

“All right, then. I’ll do it. But you realise you owe me one hell of a favour.”

“Darling, if you beat Mrs Jennings’ lemon sponge, you can strap me to the bed and spank me.”

“Don’t tempt me.” Jeremy chuckled as he sauntered back to the kitchen, and Stan returned to cleaning the floor, now eagerly looking forward to the day—and night—of the Burchester Show.



© H. Lewis-Foster 2015. All rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
    bottom of page